Dawgs Barking for Respect

The late comedian Rodney Dangerfield once remarked: “I don’t get no respect. I played hide-and-seek, and they wouldn’t even look for me”.

The Dutchess Dawgs are the Rodney Dangerfields of the NFL (Nightcap Fantasy League). They don’t get no respect.

Last year, the Dawgs had the best record in the NFL at 10-2. They went to the NFL championship game, the Super Bowl of fantasy land, only to lose on a day when a New England winter monsoon held down the passing efforts of Tom Brady and company.

Follow me so far. As Rodney D once said: “I tell ya when I was a kid, all I knew was rejection. My yo-yo, it never came back!”

The plight of the Puppies sounds a bit like the Super Bowl champion New York Giants, huge underdogs (no pun intended) last year and picked by most pundits to finish third or worse in their own division this year. No respect.

The Dawg Pound

The Dawgs 2008 draft was panned by the experts. They were even picked to lose last week to an expansion team.

Well, the Dawgs did what they do best, balanced scoring in a strong,115-point effort. They got 30 points from WR Calvin Johnson, 21 points from RB Clinton Portis, and 16 points from the Giants DST, including six sacks and a Justin Tuck touchdown.

The ancient …but well-dressed, as always … Amani Toomer contributed a touchdown and 12 points to the Hounds tally.  Heck, the Dawgs even got 62 points from their reserve squad.

The result, another win and a 2-0 record, tied for first in the Somers/Armonk Division.

“My psychiatrist told me I’m going crazy,” Dangerfield once quipped. “I told him, ‘If you don’t mind, I’d like a second opinion.’ He said, ‘All right. You’re ugly too!'”

Maybe next week the Dawgs will get some notice. Maybe even a little R-E-S-P-E-C-T.

Sing it, Aretha Franklin!!!

Leave a Reply

